Top papers from AJHA national conference announced

27 Dec 2019 10:36 AM | Melony Shemberger (Administrator)

The American Journalism Historians Association honored scholars with awards for outstanding achievement in research during its October national convention in Dallas, Texas.

The William David Sloan Award for top faculty paper went to Ronald R. Rodgers of the University of Florida for his paper, “Journalism and the Concept of the Constructive.”

Runners up were Julie Lane, Boise State University, for “Defending Joe McCarthy” and Bernell Tripp, University of Florida, for “Dancing to a Different Tune: Black Minstrelsy’s Impact on the Creation of Black Entertainment Journalism.”

Tripp’s paper was also selected for the J. William Snorgrass Memorial Award for the Outstanding Paper on a Minorities Topic. Runners-up were Nathaniel Frederick and William Schulte, Winthrop University, for “HUMOR IN HUE: The Social Cartoons in Black World Magazine during the Black Power Movement, 1970-1976”; and Erika Pribanic-Smith, University of Texas at Arlington, and Jared Schroeder, Southern Methodist University, for “Breaking the White Circle: How the Press and Courts Quieted a Chicago Hate Group, 1949-1952.”

The Maurine Beasley Award for the Outstanding Paper on a Women’s History Topic was given to Pamela E. Walck and Emily Fitzgerald, Duquesne University, for “Finding the ‘Cullud’ Angle to Feminism: Evelyn Cunningham, ‘The Women,’ and the Pittsburgh Courier.”

The Robert Lance Memorial Award for top graduate student paper went to Ashley Walter of Pennsylvania State University for “‘Is the newspaper office the place for a girl?’: Coverage of the U.S. Press Class-Action Sexual Discrimination Lawsuits of the 1970s-1980s.” The runner up was Timothy Ballingall from Texas Christian University for “Gendering the Bridge of Understanding: Mary Oyama's Advice Column and the Nisei Press.”

Ballingall’s paper was also honored with the Jean Palmegiano Award for Outstanding International/Transnational Journalism Research.

Copyright © 2019 AJHA ♦ All Rights Reserved
Contact AJHA via email

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software