New officers, board members elected

27 Dec 2019 10:38 AM | Melony Shemberger (Administrator)

The American Journalism Historians Association elected a new second vice president and three new board members during its 38th Annual Convention in Dallas, Texas.

Mike Conway of Indiana University will serve as second vice president during 2019-20, beginning a three-year tenure which will culminate in his serving as the organization’s president in 2021-22.

Elected to the board were Teri Finneman of The University of Kansas; Michael Fuhlhage of Wayne State University; and Gwyneth Mellinger of James Madison University.

“I am honored the members have elected me to the leadership track of AJHA,” Conway said. “This organization has done so much for me over the years that I am happy to serve in any way that helps advance AJHA and the importance of journalism history.

“Those of us who study journalism history know we’ve faced some tough times in journalism over the centuries. We need to spread that knowledge of the past to help guide us through this current environment when so many would rather demean our profession rather than face difficult truths.”

AJHA’s new president will be Donna Lampkin Stephens of the University of Central Arkansas, who was initially elected to the board in 2014, served as second vice president in 2017, and as first vice president from October 2018-October 2019.

Aimee Edmondson of Ohio University will serve as first vice president. Erika Pribanic-Smith from the University of Texas-Arlington will continue as administrative secretary, and Carolyn Edy from Appalachian State University will continue as treasurer.

Copyright © 2019 AJHA ♦ All Rights Reserved
Contact AJHA via email

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software