

PRESS RELEASE November 3, 2013 FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE Contact: Riva Brown Phone: 601-672-8946 Email: <u>rrbrown@uca.edu</u> Written by Joseph Cabosky

AJHA ANNOUNCES RESEARCH PAPER AWARD RECIPIENTS

The American Journalism Historians Association honored 14 scholars with research paper awards at its annual convention Sept. 26-28 in New Orleans.

Research Chair Linda Lumsden said the task of selecting winners was particularly difficult this year.

"We had a record amount of paper submissions this year—77 up from 69 last year—so the competition for awards was tougher than ever," Lumsden said.

Lumsden said that for the first time, more students than faculty submitted papers.

"It's great to know that journalism history continues to play a role in graduate education," she said.

Graduate student papers did well in the research competition, Lumsden said. A graduate student co-wrote an award-winning paper in a non-student category, and two others received honorable mentions for non-student awards. [Student authors are marked (S).]

Following is the full list of this year's research paper award recipients:

- J. William Snorgrass Award (Minority Journalism): Jodi L. Rightler-McDaniels (S) and Amber Roessner, University of Tennessee. *Honorable mentions*: Bruce Berman and Mary M. Cronin, New Mexico State University; Ulf Jonas Bjork, Indiana University-Purdue University at Indianapolis; Cristina Mislan (S), Pennsylvania State University.
- Maurine Beasley Award (Women's History): Erika J. Pribanic-Smith, University of Texas at Arlington. *Honorable mention*: Paula Hunt (S), University of Missouri.
- Wally Eberhard Award (Media and War): Michael Fuhlhage, Auburn University. *Honorable mention*: Gerry Lanosga, Indiana University.
- Robert Lance Award (Top Student Paper): Ken Ward (S), Wichita State University. Honorable mentions:
 E. Henry McIntire (S), University of Utah; Joseph Cabosky (S), University of North Carolina; Denise Hill (S), University of North Carolina.
- David Sloan Award (Top Faculty Paper): Berman and Cronin. *Honorable mentions*: Bjork, Fuhlhage, Pribanic-Smith.

Founded in 1981, the American Journalism Historians Association seeks to advance education and research in mass communication history. Members work to raise historical standards and ensure that all scholars and students recognize the vast importance of media history and apply this knowledge to the advancement of society. For more information on AJHA, visit http://www.ajhaonline.org.