

ajha Handa Alaman Alama

August 14, 2015

For Immediate Release Contact: Jodi Rightler-McDaniels

Phone: (865) 251-1890

Email: jrightler@southcollegetn.edu

Written by JODI RIGHTLER-McDANIELS

## AJHA TO HONOR OKLAHOMA CITY JOURNALISTS

OKLAHOMA CITY—The American Journalism Historians Association will honor two local journalists during the 34<sup>th</sup> annual convention Oct. 8-10 at the Skirvin Hilton.

Michael R. "Mick" Hinton, who has been a veteran reporter at the Oklahoman and the Tulsa World, will receive the Outstanding Local Journalist Award. Jaclyn Cosgrove, health reporter at the Oklahoman, will be the featured speaker at the association's annual Donna Allen Luncheon.

Hinton, inducted into the Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame in 2003, substantially contributed to the local public interest with his works. According to Florida International University Honors Fellow Fred Blevens, Hinton exemplifies what the Outstanding Local Journalist Award encompasses.

"Over nearly five decades, Mick Hinton has provided some of the best journalism for readers in Oklahoma," Blevens said. "His work embodies all the values and principles that we historians cherish in our own work."

The annual Donna Allen Luncheon celebrates contributions of women to the field of journalism.

Cosgrove, a 2015-2016 Rosalynn Carter Mental Health Journalism Fellow, personifies the vision that

Donna Allen had for young female reporters, according to Middle Tennessee State University

journalism professor Jane Marcellus.

"Her work is detailed, insightful, compassionate, fair, and tough. She shows that young people can make it in this business, and what their dedication to the best traditions of journalism looks like in a changing environment," Marcellus said. "I like her work, which often has insights into women's lives."

Recent recipients of the Outstanding Local Journalism Award include Paul McEnroe, Minneapolis Star Tribune (2014); Lee Zurik, WVUE-TV (New Orleans, 2013); and J. Andrew Curliss, Raleigh News & Observer (2012). Recent honorees at the Donna Allen Luncheon include Mary Stucky, Round Earth Media (St. Paul, 2014); Peggy Scott Laborde, WYES-TV (New Orleans, 2013); and Wyndham Robertson, former editor of Fortune magazine (Raleigh, 2012).

Founded in 1981, the American Journalism Historians Association seeks to advance education and research in mass communication history. Members work to raise historical standards and ensure that all scholars and students recognize the vast importance of media history and apply this knowledge to the advancement of society. For more information on AJHA, visit ajhaonline.org.

###