

PRESS RELEASE

November 30. 2023 For Immediate Release Contact: Julie Lane Phone: (208) 426-1906 julielane@boisestate.edu



1 of 3

AJHA ELECTS NEW OFFICERS, BOARD MEMBERS

The American Journalism Historians Association elected a new second vice president and three new board members during its 42nd Annual Convention in Columbus, Ohio.

Michael Fuhlhage of Wayne State University will serve as second vice president during 2023-24, beginning a three-year tenure that will culminate in him serving as the organization's president in 2025-26.

Elected to the board were Mark Bernhardt of Jackson State University; Christina Littlefield of Pepperdine University; and Amber Roessner of the University of Tennessee. Their three-year terms span from 2023 to 2026.

Fuhlhage is an associate professor in the Department of Communication at Wayne State University. He has been an AJHA member for 18 years and has served as a member of the Board of Directors, the Book Award Committee, the Margaret Blanchard Dissertation Prize Committee; a juror for the Joseph McKerns Research Grant competition; and chair of the Research Committee. He was awarded the National Award for Excellence in Teaching from AJHA in 2020.

"As I rise to the presidency of the organization over the next two years, my priorities are to further strengthen the AJHA's financial footing, stand up for the study and teaching of history where it is under threat, and lift up our students and junior scholars," Fuhlhage said. "I am honored to have the opportunity to serve."

AJHA's new president will be Tracy Lucht of Iowa State University, who served as second vice president from 2021-2022, and as first vice president from October 2022-October 2023.

Debra van Tuyll, professor emerita at Augusta University, will serve as first vice president, and Ken Ward of Pittsburg State University will serve as treasurer. Erika Pribanic-Smith of the University of Texas-Arlington will continue as executive director.

New board member Mark Bernhardt is a professor in the Department of History and Philosophy at Jackson State University. A member of AJHA for seven years, he chairs the History in the Curriculum Committee. He received a Joseph McKerns Research Grant in 2020.

"I'm thrilled to be serving on the board and look forward to helping the AJHA be the best that it can be," Bernhardt said.

Christina Littlefield is an associate professor of journalism and religion at Pepperdine University. She first attended the AJHA convention in 2017, where she received an *American Journalism* Rising Scholar research award. She serves as editor of the AJHA website.

"I am very honored to be entrusted with protecting AJHA's amazing legacy of supporting media research and emerging scholars," Littlefield said. "I will do my best to help this great organization flourish in living out its mission."

Amber Roessner is a professor in the University of Tennessee's School of Journalism & Media. An AJHA member since 2006, this will be her second term on the Board of Directors. She also chaired the Nominations and Elections Committee, and has served on the Book Award Committee, the

2 of 3 11/30/2023, 1:34 PM

generations."

Blanchard Dissertation Prize Committee, and as president of the Graduate Student Committee. Roessner received *American Journalism*'s inaugural

Rising Scholar award in 2014 and the AJHA Award for Excellence in Teaching in 2017.

"I'm honored to have the opportunity to serve on AJHA's Board of Directors for a second term," Roessner said. "This organization has always been more like a family to me and as such, has been foundational to my success. With that in mind, I'm truly grateful to have the chance to engage with these board leaders in actions that will preserve this transformative organization for future

###

Founded in 1981, the American Journalism Historians Association seeks to advance education and research in mass communication history. Members work to raise historical standards and ensure that all scholars and students recognize the vast importance of media history and apply this knowledge to the advancement of society. For more information on AJHA, visit http://www.ajhaonline.org.

Copyright © 2022 American Journalism Historians Association. All rights reserved.

Contact email: AJHAconvention@gmail.com

You are receiving this message because you opted in at ajhaonline.org

3 of 3 11/30/2023, 1:34 PM