

## **PRESS RELEASE**

August 11, 2023 For Immediate Release Contact: Julie Lane Phone: (208) 426-1906 julielane@boisestate.edu

## AJHA ANNOUNCES TOP PAPERS FOR 2023 NATIONAL CONVENTION

The American Journalism Historians Association will honor scholars representing eight universities for research papers they will present during the 42<sup>nd</sup> Annual AJHA Convention in Columbus, Ohio, Sept. 28-30.

W. Joseph Campbell of American University won the Wm. David Sloan Award for Outstanding Faculty Paper for "Interrogating a 'Conspiracy': About That Civil War Press 'Boycott' of General Meade." Campbell also received the Wally Eberhard Award for Outstanding Paper on Media and War.

Yvonne Cantrell-Bickley of the University of Georgia won the Robert Lance Memorial Award for Outstanding Student Paper for "In Labor? Come Back on Wednesday: News Coverage of the Integration of Atlanta's Public Hospital."

The Maurine Beasley Award for Outstanding Paper on Women's History went to Lisa Parcell and Paul Myers of Wichita State University for "Coming in the Back Door: Women's Entry into Advertising Through the Brand Test Kitchen."

Brian Carroll of Berry College received the J. William Snorgrass Award for Outstanding Paper on Minority Journalism History for "Transgressions: An Editor's Crusade to Thwart America's First Black Shakespearean Acting Company."

The Jean Palmegiano Award for Outstanding International/Transnational Journalism Research went to Erin Coyle of Temple University, Elisabeth Fondren of St. John's University, and Annette Masterson of Temple University for "The Throttling of the Free Press in Cuba": Exploring Transnational Journalism and Sigma Delta Chi's Advocacy for Press Freedom in Cuba (1956-1962)."

Scholars receiving honorable mentions were:

Sloan Award – Lisa Parcell and Paul Myers (Wichita State) and Brian Carroll (Berry)

Lance Award – Karlin Andersen Tuttle (Penn State University)
Beasley Award – Bailey Dick (Bowling Green State University)
Snorgrass Award – Yvonne Cantrell-Bickley (Georgia)
Palmegiano Award – Thomas Mascaro (Bowling Green, retired)

Founded in 1981, the American Journalism Historians Association seeks to advance education and research in mass communication history. Members work to raise historical standards and ensure that all scholars and students recognize the vast importance of media history and apply this knowledge to the advancement of society. For more information on AJHA, visit <a href="http://www.ajhaonline.org">http://www.ajhaonline.org</a>.

Copyright © 2023 American Journalism Historians Association. All rights reserved.

Contact email: <a href="mailto:AJHAconvention@gmail.com">AJHAconvention@gmail.com</a>

You are receiving this message because you opted in at <a href="mailto:ajhaonline.org">ajhaonline.org</a>