

## PRESS RELEASE

July 18, 2018 For Immediate Release Contact: Willie R. Tubbs Phone: (225) 936-8565 Email: wtubbs@uwf.edu Written by Willie R. Tubbs

## St. Peter's Palmegiano named 2018 Kobre Award Winner

The American Journalism Historians Association has announced Dr. Eugenia M. Palmegiano, emerita faculty in the St. Peter's University Department of History, as the recipient of the 2018 Kobre Award for Lifetime Achievement in Journalism History.

Palmegiano, a lifetime member of AJHA, was nominated by Dr. Wm. David Sloan with additional letters of support from 18 distinguished members of the American Journalism Historians Association, including former AJHA presidents and Kobre Award winners.

"I am honored to have been chosen as the recipient of the 2018 Kobre Award and shall do my best to live up to the high standards set by my predecessors," Palmegiano said. "I see this award as an opportunity to publicize the fine work of my colleagues in the American Journalism Historians Association, especially at this critical moment in press history."

The Kobre Award recognizes individuals with an exemplary record of sustained achievement in journalism history through teaching, research, professional activities, or other contributions to the field of journalism history.

Palmegiano's accomplishments in the field of history are many and varied, as are her contributions to the organization. She's written six books, one monograph, and dozens more refereed articles, books chapters, book reviews, and conference presentations.

Palmegiano has served as AJHA president and twice been a member of the AJHA board of directors.

During her first term on the AJHA Board in 1996, Palmegiano worked with then AJHA president Tom Heuterman to establish AJHA as an affiliate society of the American Historical Association.

Since 2016, Palmegiano has funded the American Historical Association's annual prize for best journalism history book. Palmegiano also funds the annual AJHA award for best research paper on international/transnational journalism history.

The Sidney Kobre Award for Lifetime Achievement in Journalism History is the American Journalism Historians Association's highest honor. The late Dr. Sidney Kobre was a renowned media historian who served as a professor at Florida State from the 1940s through the 1970s and penned 16 books in his career.

Founded in 1981, the American Journalism Historians Association seeks to advance education and research in mass communication history. Members work to raise historical standards and ensure that all scholars and students recognize the vast importance of media history and apply this knowledge to the advancement of society. For more information on AJHA, visit http://www.ajhaonline.org.