

PRESS RELEASE

October 19, 2015

For Immediate Release

Contact: Jodi Rightler-McDaniels

Phone: (865) 251-1890

Email: jrightler@southcollegetn.edu

Written by Willie R. Tubbs

## 2015 research paper award winners announced

The American Journalism Historians Association awarded scholars for outstanding research in the field of media history at its 2015 annual convention.

The convention, which took place at the Skirvin Hotel in Oklahoma City, Okla., recognized winners and runners-up in five divisions, each category bearing the name of an accomplished historian.

Iowa State University assistant professor Tracy Lucht won two of the first-place awards, the Maurine Beasley Award for the Outstanding Paper on Women's History and the William David Sloan Award for Top Faculty Paper, for her paper "From Sob Sister to Society Editor: Dorothy Ashby Pownall's 'Feel for the Game' of Journalism." Lucht feels honored to receive such esteemed recognition for her work.

"I have told Dr. Beasley and Dr. Sloan separately how much it means to me to have their names on my

office wall, where they serve as a source of inspiration," Lucht said. "To be honest, AJHA is where I submit work that I really want to test because I know it will receive thoughtful, rigorous—and honest—feedback. To have that work validated is a great feeling, and it has shaped my research agenda in productive ways."

Ellen Gerl, of Ohio University, was named the runner-up for the Beasley award for "Out of the Back Rooms: Physician-Publicist Virginia Apgar Makes Birth Defects a Popular Cause." Three scholars earned runner-up recognition for the Sloan Award: Kim Mangun (University of Utah) for "The National Newspaper Publishers Association: Seventy-five Years of Advocacy," Erika Pribanic-Smith (University of Texas at Arlington) for "Political Papers and Presidential Campaigns in the Republic of Texas, 1836-1844," and Cayce Myers (Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University) for "Publicists in U.S.

Public Relations History: An Analysis of the Representations of Publicists in the American Press, 1815-1918."

Mangun's paper also received the J. William Snorgrass Memorial Award for the Outstanding Paper on a Minorities Topic. Sheryl Kennedy (University of Southern Mississippi) was named the runner-up for her paper, "From the Fields into the World: How Women at Bennett College Discussed Race, Politics and Community Building in their Student Run Campus Newspaper from 1931-1939."

The Wallace Eberhard Award for the Outstanding Paper on Media and War went to W. Joseph Campbell (American University) for "Picture Power? Confronting the Myths of 'Napalm Girl'," while runner-up recognition went to Steve Holiday (Texas Tech University) and Dale Cressman (Brigham Young University) for "The Sacred Circle: Mutualism Between World War II Photojournalists and Photo Editors."

The Robert Lance Memorial Award for Top Student Paper went to Nicholas Hirshon (Ohio University) for "One More Miracle: The Groundbreaking Media Campaign of John 'Mets' Lindsay."

Two papers tied for the runner-up: Kennedy and David Forster (Ohio University) for "Horace Greeley and the Bailing of Jefferson Davis" and Tae Ho Lee (University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill) for "Radical Reconstructionism in North Carolina, 1869-1871: A Case in the Public Relations History of the University of North Carolina, the Forgotten Ideal of the 'People's University."

Founded in 1981, the American Journalism Historians Association seeks to advance education and research in mass communication history. Members work to raise historical standards and ensure that all scholars and students recognize the vast importance of media history and apply this knowledge to the advancement of society. For more information on AJHA, visit http://www.ajhaonline.org.