

PRESS RELEASE

February 6, 2023 For Immediate Release Contact: Julie Lane Phone: (208) 426-1906 julielane@boisestate.edu

AMERICAN JOURNALISM HISTORIANS ASSOCIATION INVITES NOMINATIONS FOR TWO JOURNALISM HISTORY ACHIEVEMENT AWARDS

The American Journalism Historians Association invites nominations for two awards honoring significant service to the study and understanding of media history.

The Sidney Kobre Award for Lifetime Achievement in Journalism History is the organization's highest honor. The Kobre Award recognizes individuals with an exemplary record of sustained achievement through teaching, research, professional activities, or other contributions to the field of journalism history. Award winners need not be members of the AJHA. Nominations for the award are solicited annually, but the award need not be given every year. Those making nominations should present, at minimum, a cover letter that explains the nominee's contributions to the field and a vita or brief biography of the nominee. Supporting letters for the nomination are welcome and encouraged. For a list of past winners, see https://ajha.wildapricot.org/kobre.

The Distinguished Service to Journalism History Award recognizes contributions by an individual outside our discipline who has made an extraordinary effort to further significantly our understanding of, or our ability to explore, media history. Nominations are solicited annually, but the award is given only in exceptional situations and, as such, is not awarded every year. Those making nominations for the award should present, at minimum, a cover letter that explains the nominee's contributions to the field, a vita or brief biography of the nominee, and an accounting of the richness of the nominee's service to journalism history. Supporting letters for the nomination are welcome and encouraged. For information about past winners, see https://ajha.wildapricot.org/distinguished-service.

The deadline for submitting nominating materials for either award is May 15, 2023.

Electronic submissions are preferred via email to: Dr. Willie Tubbs, Assistant Professor, University of West Florida, <u>wtubbs@uwf.edu</u>.

Alternatively, postal submissions may be sent to the following address:

Dr. Willie Tubbs AJHA Service Awards Chair Communication Department Building 36, Room 183 University of West Florida 11000 University Pkwy Pensacola, FL 32514

###

Founded in 1981, the American Journalism Historians Association seeks to advance education and research in mass communication history. Members work to raise historical standards and ensure that all scholars and students recognize the vast importance of media history and apply this knowledge to the advancement of society. For more information on AJHA, visit <u>http://www.ajhaonline.org</u>.

Copyright © 2023 American Journalism Historians Association. All rights reserved. Contact email: <u>AJHAconvention@gmail.com</u> You are receiving this message because you opted in at <u>ajhaonline.org</u>