

American Journalism Historians Association

Advancing teaching and research in mass communication history since 1981

PRESS RELEASE

September 6, 2020 For immediate release Contact: Julien Gorbach Phone: (781) 799-8576 Email: gorbach@hawaii.edu Written by Julien Gorbach

AJHA ANNOUNCES TOP PAPERS FOR 2020 VIRTUAL CONFERENCE

Scholars representing universities across North America will be officially recognized for their work on research papers at the upcoming American Journalism Historians Association Virtual 2020 National Conference, its 39th annual convention.

Tracy Lucht of Iowa State University won the Wm. David Sloan Award for Outstanding Faculty Paper and the Maurine Beasley Award for outstanding women's-history research paper for "Amelia Bloomer, *The Lily*, and Early Feminist Discourse in the U.S."

Honorable Mention recipients for top faculty paper also won a two-way tie for the Wally Eberhard Award for research in media and war.

Thomas Mascaro of Bowling Green State University earned these honors for "Documenting the Pakistani Civil War of 1971: Rhonda Schwartz Enters Documentary Journalism; Robert Rogers Produces His *Guernica*," as did Michael S. Sweeney of Ohio University, for "The 'Exactest' Color and Situation: James Cassidy's Two Radio Voices in World War II."

The Robert Lance Memorial Award for Outstanding Student Paper went to Autumn Lorimer Linford of University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill for "'They'll Never Make Newspaper Men': Early Gendering in Journalism, 1884-1889."

Lorimer also won Honorable Mention for the Beasley Award, as did Brian Carroll of Berry College for "Isabella Goodwin: Gendered newspaper Coverage of New York's First Female Detective."

Honorable mention for top student paper went to Patrick Walters of Temple University and Katztown University for "Boundaries and Journalistic Authority in Newspaper Coverage of the Hutchins Report."

Researchers also won a two-way tie for the J. William Snorgrass Award for outstanding minority-journalism research.

Jon Bekken of Albright College earned the award for "Relations of Production at The Chicago Defender: Union-Busting, Contingent Labor & Consolidation in the Black Press." Thomas Terry of Utah State University won for "Its Racist Plunder: Opposing Agendas and Representations of the Elections of 1898 and 2008 through White and Black Press Political Cartoonists."

The top prize for the Jean Palmegiano Award for outstanding international/transnational journalism history went to Brendon Floyd of the University of Missouri for "From Nationalism to Imperialism: Musgrave, Burk, and the Irish Rebellion of 1798."

Copyright © 2020 American Journalism Historians Association. All rights reserved. Contact email: <u>AJHAconvention@gmail.com</u>

You are receiving this message because you opted in at ajhaonline.org