Member News

21 Jan 2017 9:37 PM | Dane Claussen

Brian Gabrial of Concordia University, Canada, was awarded the Hazel Dicken-Garcia Award for Distinguished Scholarship in Journalism History at the 2016 Symposium on the 19th Century Press, the Civil war, and Free Expression at the University of Tennessee Chattanooga.

* * *

Linda Lumsden of the University of Arizona published a profile of suffrage martyr Inez Milholland in the 'Longform" section of Lumsden's biography of Milholland, who died 100 years ago on Nov. 25 while campaigning for votes for women in California, came out in paperback this fall to commemorate the centennial of her death. Lumsden also conducted a livechat  on the article for TPM. The article link is (get a free three-day trial subscription to read the full article):​

* * *

Ellen Gerl of Ohio University published the article, ”'Out of the Back Rooms': Physician-publicist Virginia Apgar Makes Birth Defects a Popular Cause,” in the Fall 2016 issue of  Journalism History. An earlier version of the article was presented at the 2015 AJHA conference where it was a runner-up for the Maureen Beasley Award for the Outstanding Paper on Women’s History.

* * *

Owen V. Johnson of Indiana University gave the paper, “Light & Shadows:  Living and Doing Research in Communist Czechoslovakia, 1972-1989,” at the annual convention of the Association for Slavic, East European and Eurasian Studies, Washington, D.C., on November 18, 2016. He also published two articles in Traces of Indiana and Midwestern History: “Wrestling with Fame:  Ernie Pyle & the Pulitzer Prize,” 28:2 (Spring 2016), pp. 46-53 [with Holly Hays]; and “Keep Them Smoking:  The Ernie Pyle Cigarette Fund,” 28:2 (Spring 2016), pp. 54-55.  

* * *

Dane S. Claussen of Thiel College has been nominated as one of two candidates for Vice-President of the Association for Education in Journalism and Mass Communication (AEJMC). The election will be held in Spring 2017. If he is elected, he will take office on Oct. 1, 2017. Claussen would then automatically become President-Elect in 2018-19; President in 2019-20; and Past President in 2020-21. He would be a member of AEJMC’s Board of Directors during all four years. Claussen’s opponent in the vice-presidential election is David Perlmutter, Dean and Professor, College of Media and Communication, Texas Tech University.

Claussen is probably best known within AEJMC for serving as Editor of the quarterly scholarly journal, Journalism & Mass Communication Educator (J&MCE) from March 2006 until September 2012. In addition, he has served as Head of the AEJMC’s History Division; Mass Communication & Society Division; Magazine Media Division; Media Management, Economics & Entrepreneurship Division; and LGBTQ Interest Group, among other division roles. Claussen also has been an elected member of AEJMC’s Teaching Committee; appointed member of its Publications Committee; and ex officio member of its Diversity Task Force.

Copyright © 2022 AJHA ♦ All Rights Reserved
Contact AJHA via email

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software