Book of the Year Award

Given the global health crisis, the Book Award judging process has been delayed. We will notify finalists as soon as possible.

The American Journalism Historians Association Book of the Year Award recognizes the best book in journalism history or mass media history published during the previous calendar year.

For the 2020 award, the book must have been granted a first-time copyright in 2019. Authors may self-nominate. Nominated books may be co-authored, but edited books will not be considered. Nominations are due February 28, 2020.

The three finalists will discuss their work at an awards panel at AJHA’s Memphis, Tennessee, conference to be held Oct. 1-3, 2020. Following the panel presentations, the 2020 AJHA Book Award winner will be announced. Finalists must agree to present at the AJHA Book Award panel at the AJHA conference.

To nominate a book for the award, submit the following to Ann Bourne, Ph.D., Assistant Director, School of Library & Information Studies, College of Communication and Information Sciences, the University of Alabama, 512 Gorgas Library, Box 870252, Tuscaloosa, Alabama, 35487:

  1. A letter stating “As the author of this title nominated for the 2020 AJHA Book Award, I agree that if my book is chosen as a finalist, I will participate in the book award panel at the 2020 AJHA conference in Memphis, Tennessee.”
  2. Four copies of the book to be considered for the award.
  3. The author’s contact information, including telephone number and email address.
Only complete nomination packets will be considered

Questions? Contact Book Award Coordinator, Dr. Ann Bourne, at (205) 348-1524 or

Thomas Aiello received the 2019 Book of the Year Award for “The Grapevine of the Black South: The Scott Newspaper Syndicate in the Generation Before the Civil Rights Movement" (Print Culture in the South). Read about his recognition.

Past Winners

 2019 Thomas Aiello
 The Grapevine of the Black South: The Scott Newspaper Syndicate in the Generation Before the Civil Rights Movement
 2018 Steven Casey
The War Beat, Europe: The American Media at War Against Nazi Germany
 2017 Thomas HrachThe Riot Report and the News: How the Kerner Commission Changed Media Coverage of Black America
 2016 Leonard Teel
Reporting the Cuban Revolution: How Castro Manipulated American Journalists
 2015 Margot Opdycke Lamme
Public Relations and Religion in American History: Evangelism, Temperance, and Business
 Carol Sue Humphrey
The American Revolution and the Press: The Promise of Independence
 2013 Richard K. Popp
The Holiday Makers: Magazines, Advertising, and Mass Tourism in Postwar America
 2012 Peter Hartshorn
I Have Seen the Future: A Life of Lincoln Steffens
 2011 Mark Feldstein
Poisoning the Press: Richard Nixon, Jack Anderson, and the Rise of Washington's Scandal Culture
 2010 John Maxwell Hamilton
Journalism's Roving Eye: A History of American Foreign Reporting
 2009 Ford Risley
Abolition and the Press: The Moral Struggle Against Slavery
 2008 Mary A. Hamilton
Rising from the Wilderness: J.W. Gitt and His Legendary Newspaper
 2007 Gene Roberts & Hank Klibanoff
The Race Beat: The Press, the Civil Rights Struggle, and the Awakening of a Nation
 2006 Laurel Leff
Buried by the Times: The Holocaust and America's Most Important Newspaper
 2005 David Paul Nord
Faith in Reading: Religious Publishing and the Birth of Mass Media in America
 2004 David Greenberg
Nixon's Shadow: The History of an Image
 2003Gregory C. Lisby & William F. Mugleston
Someone Had to be Hated: Julian LaRose Harris, A Biography
 2002 Michael Sweeney
Secrets of Victory: The Office of Censorship and the American Press and Radio in World War II
 2001 John C. Hartsock
A History of American Literary Journalism: The Emergence of a Modern Form

Copyright © 2020 AJHA ♦ All Rights Reserved
Contact AJHA via email

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software