37th Annual AJHA Convention
Salt Lake City   |   Oct. 4-6, 2018

Convention contacts

Convention Coordinator
Caryl Cooper
University of Alabama

Registration Coordinator
Ken Ward
Lamar University

Program Coordinator
Donna Lampkin Stephens
University of Central Arkansas

Convention hosts

University of Utah
Kimberley Mangun
David Vergobbi
Glen Feighery

Friday, October 5

Go to: Schedule at a Glance  |  Thursday a.m.Thursday p.m.  |  Saturday

8:20-9:20 a.m. Choice of two sessions

PAPER SESSION: Looking Back, Looking Forward: Lessons for the Future
(Click paper titles for abstracts)

Moderator: Susan E. Swanberg, University of Arizona

Robert Byrd Jr., University of Memphis
Evolving Narratives: New Orleans Media Coverage of the AIDS Epidemic from 1985 to 1988

Amy Mattson Lauters, Minnesota State University

The New Frontier: How the Press Covered Gendered Usage of Emerging Media Technology, 1990-2000

Connor Harrison, Boston University
Bill Simmons: The New Journalism Tradition in the Internet Age

PANEL: Creating a Sense of Belonging: Media History and Contemporary Trends in Community and Local Journalism

Moderator: Madeleine Liseblad, Middle Tennessee State University

Ken J. Ward, Lamar University
Caitlin Cieslik-Miskimen, University of Wisconsin-Madison
Craig (Thomas) Anderson, Arizona State University
Scott Burgess, Wayne State University

9:30-10:50 a.m. Margaret A. Blanchard Dissertation Award
Visit Awards page for more information.

11 a.m. to 12:30 p.m. Donna Allen Roundtable Luncheon
Visit Events page for more information.

1-6* p.m. Historic Tour
Meet in hotel lobby
*A second bus will depart Park City at 7 p.m. for those who want to stay for dinner.
Visit Tour page for more information.

Go to: Schedule at a Glance  |  Thursday a.m.Thursday p.m.  |  Saturday

Salt Lake City Convention Sponsors


Copyright © 2018 AJHA ♦ All Rights Reserved
Contact AJHA via email

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software