Distinguished Service to Journalism History

The deadline for nominations has passed. The winner will be announced this summer.

The Distinguished Service to Journalism History Award recognizes contributions by an individual outside our discipline who has made an extraordinary effort to further significantly our understanding of, or our ability to explore, media history.

Nominations are solicited annually, but the award is given only in exceptional situations. Thus, it is not given every year.

Those making nominations for the award should present, at the minimum, a cover letter that explains the nominee's contributions to the field as well as a vita or brief biography of the nominee. Supporting letters for the nomination are also welcome.

Send nominations no later than May 15, 2019.

Electronic submissions are preferred via email to Tom Mascaro, Professor, Bowling Green State University

Alternatively, postal submissions may be sent to the following address:

Tom Mascaro
AJHA Service Awards Chair
33905 LaMoyne St.
Livonia, MI 48154.

AJHA honored Northwestern University Professor Loren Ghiglione at its 2010 National Convention for his work to promote journalism history during his 26 years as editor/owner of the Southbridge (Mass.) Evening News.

Other past recipients are Haynes Johnson (2001), winner of the 1966 Pulitzer Prize for his coverage of the civil rights crisis in Selma, AL, and Pem Farnsworth, honored in 1993 for her role in the invention of television.

Copyright © 2019 AJHA ♦ All Rights Reserved
Contact AJHA via email

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software