Sidney Kobre Award for Lifetime Achievement in Journalism History

The Sidney Kobre Award for Lifetime Achievement in Journalism history is American Journalism Historians Association's highest honor.

The Kobre Award recognizes individuals with an exemplary record of sustained achievement in journalism history through teaching, research, professional activities, or other contributions to the field of journalism history. Award winners need not be members of the AJHA.

Nominations for the award are solicited annually, but the award need not be given every year. Those making nominations for the award should present, at the minimum, a cover letter that explains the nominee's contributions to the field as well as a vita or brief biography of the nominee. Supporting letters for the nomination are also welcome.

The Awards Committee selects the winner from among nominees and presents the award during a luncheon at the AJHA National Convention.

Send nominations no later than May 15, 2020.

Electronic submissions are preferred via email to Tom Mascaro, Professor, Bowling Green State University

Alternatively, postal submissions may be sent to the following address:

Tom Mascaro
AJHA Service Awards Chair
33905 LaMoyne St.
Livonia, MI 48154.

Dr. Debra VanTuyll, professor in the Department of Communication at Augusta University, received the 2019 Kobre Award for Lifetime Achievement in Journalism History. Read about her achievement.


Past Winners

 2018 Eugenia Palmegiano, St. Peter's
 2006  Hazel Dicken-Garcia, Minnesota
 2017 Kitty Endres, Akron
 2005  Barbara Cloud, Nevada-Las Vegas
 2016 Jean Folkerts, North Carolina
 2004  Joseph McKerns, Ohio State
 2015 Michael Sweeney, Ohio  2003  Michael Murray, Missouri-St. Louis
 2014 Leonard Teel, Georgia State  2002  Margaret Blanchard, North Carolina 
 2013 David Abrahamson, Northwestern  2000
 Jim Startt, Valparaiso
2012 David Paul Nord, Indiana  1999  Hiley Ward, Temple
 2010 David Copeland, Elon  1998  David Sloan, Alabama
 2009 Betty Winfield, Missouri  1997  Maurine Beasley, Maryland
 2008 Patrick Washburn, Ohio  1992  Ed Emery, Minnesota
 2007 Wally Eberhard, Georgia  1986  Sidney Kobre

Copyright © 2020 AJHA ♦ All Rights Reserved
Contact AJHA via email

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software