Awards presented to local journalists

American Journalism Historians Association honors journalists working in the area local to its national convention site each year with its Outstanding Local Journalist Award and Donna Allen Luncheon recognition. The Local Host Committee selects the honorees. For information on the Local Host Committee for the upcoming convention, please visit our Convention page.

Outstanding Local Journalist Award

American Journalism Historians Association annually bestows its Outstanding Local Journalist Award for Substantial Contribution to the Public Interest to a journalist local to the convention city whose work has had a positive impact on the community.

Following are recent recipients:

  • Otis Sanford, University of Memphis, various outlets (2022) 
  • Dianne Solis, Dallas Morning News (2019)
  • Joan O'Brien, Salt Lake Tribune (2018)
  • Debra Hale-Shelton, Arkansas Democrat-Gazette (2017)
  • Lucy Morgan, St. Petersburg Times (2016)
  • Denise White, WTVT Fox 13 Tampa Bay (2016)
  • Mick Hinton, Oklahoma Hall of Fame journalist (2015)
  • Paul McEnroe, Minneapolis Star Tribune (2014)
  • Lee Zurik, WVUE-TV (New Orleans, 2013)
  • J. Andrew Curliss, Raleigh News & Observer (2012)
  • Lewis Diuguid, Kansas City Star (2011)
  • Carmen Duarte, Arizona Daily Star (2010)

Dianne Solis, 2019 Local Journalist Award recipient, honored by local host Melita Garza in Dallas.

 AJHA Donna Allen Luncheon honoree Tracy Everbach discusses sexual harassment in the media industry during 2019 event in Dallas.

Donna Allen Luncheon Honoree

The annual Donna Allen Luncheon celebrates contributions of women to the field of journalism. American Journalism Historians Association invites a woman journalist local to the convention city as its honored guest and featured speaker for the luncheon.

Following are recent recipients:

  • Wendi Thomas, founding editor and publisher of MLK50: Justice Through Journalism, a nonprofit newsroom in Memphis focused on poverty, power and public policy (2022) 
  • Tracy Everbach, professor of journalism, University of North Texas (2019)
  • Nancy Conway, former editor, Salt Lake Tribune (2018)
  • Mara Leveritt, Arkansas Times, and Gwen Moritz, Arkansas Business (2017)
  • Janet Keeler, Florida food writer (2016)
  • Jaclyn Cosgrove, The Oklahoman (2015)
  • Mary Stucky, Round Earth Media (St. Paul, 2014)
  • Peggy Scott Laborde, WYES-TV (New Orleans, 2013)
  • Wyndham Robertson, retired after a 40-year career (Raleigh, 2012)
  • Donna Stewart, Kansas City Call (2011)
  • Margaret Regan, Tucson Weekly (2010)

Copyright © 2022 AJHA ♦ All Rights Reserved
Contact AJHA via email

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software