34th Annual AJHA Convention
Oklahoma City   |   Oct. 8-10, 2015

Saturday, October 10

Go to: Schedule at a Glance  |  Thursday a.m.Thursday p.m.Friday

8:10-10 a.m. Research in Progress Sessions
Centennial Ballroom & Grand Ballroom A-B
For a full list of presenters, see the Research in Progress page.

10:10-11:40 a.m. General Business Meeting
Grand Ballroom E-F

All are welcome. A full agenda will be provided in early October.

  • Approval of 2014 Minutes
  • Election of Officers
  • Officer and Committee Chair Reports
  • Presentation of Research and Service Awards
  • Gavel turned over to Pete Smith, Mississippi State

11:50 a.m. to 12:50 p.m. Working Lunch (Officers/Board)
Founders Room

New and continuing officers and board members enjoy a complimentary lunch in appreciation of services provided to AJHA.

1-2 p.m. AJHA Book of the Year Award
Grand Ballroom A-B
Visit Awards page for more information.

2:10-3:25 p.m. Choice of two sessions

PAPER SESSION: Media Influencing Culture, or Not
(Click paper titles for abstracts)
Centennial Ballroom

Moderator: Mavis Richardson, Minnesota State University-Mankato

LaDonna Aiken, University of Texas-Arlington
The Far East Network Okinawa: Fifty Years of Innovation and Influence in Military Broadcasting

Raymond McCaffrey, University of Arkansas
Gender in Journalism Awards

Alexandra Menz, University of Missouri
“The Donna Reed Show” and the Hidden Second Wave

Hannah Watkins, Wichita State University
“Dear Ann, Dear Abby”: Tracing Social and Relational Traditions Through Time

PANEL: Crisis in the Discipline: Preserving Our Research (and Maybe AJHA) in the New JMC Environment


Grand Ballroom A-B

Moderator: Aimee Edmondson, Ohio University

Sid Bedingfield, University of Minnesota
Janice Hume
, University of Georgia
Earnest Perry, University of Missouri
Ford Risley, Penn State University

3:35-4:35 p.m. Choice of two sessions

PAPER SESSION: The Non-Partisan 19th-Century Press
(Click paper titles for abstracts)
Centennial Ballroom

Moderator: Kaylene Armstrong, Northwestern Oklahoma State University

Dianne Bragg, University of Alabama
1850: Compromise, Calamity, and Calhoun

Erika J. Pribanic-Smith, University of Texas-Arlington
Political Papers and Presidential Campaigns in the Republic of Texas, 1836-1844

David Vergobbi, University of Utah
Point of Transition: Quantifying Journalism’s Evolution from Frontier to Commercial Emphases

PANEL: Toward a Standard for Evaluating Documentary Journalism History
Grand Ballroom A-B

Moderator: Mike Sweeney, Ohio University

Mike Conway, Indiana University
Raluca Cozma
, Iowa State University
Tom Mascaro, Bowling Green State University

6:30-9:30 p.m. Gala Dinner
Vast Restaurant; meet in hotel lobby
Visit Events page for more information.

Copyright © 2022 AJHA ♦ All Rights Reserved
Contact AJHA via email

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software