Joseph McKerns Research Grant

Deadline: June 15, 2023

The American Journalism Historians Association seeks applications for its annual Joseph McKerns Research Grant Awards.

The research grant is intended to provide research assistance and to recognize and reward the winners. Up to four grants for up to $1,250 each will be rewarded upon review and recommendation of the Research Committee. Grants may be used for travel or other research-related expenses, but not for salary. Indirect costs are not allowable.

Awardees must submit a brief article to the Intelligencer newsletter about their completed research by Sept. 1, 2024 discussing method, findings, complications, significance.


  • All current AJHA full members with a minimum of three years' membership at the time of application are eligible.
  • The research must be related to mass media history.
  • Awardees are expected to continue their membership through the grant period.
  • Members may apply for a McKerns Research Grant once every five years.

Application requirements:

  • Complete application form included with the Call For Proposals.
  • A 1- to 3-page prospectus/overview of the project, including a budget (which should include a listing of amount and sources of other support, if appropriate), timelines, and expected outlets for the research.
  • If appropriate, include Institutional Review Board (IRB) approval from the applicant's university.
  • A shortened curriculum vita (no more than 3 pages).

Grant applications must be submitted via email to Research Committee Chair Gerry Lanosga. Materials may be submitted as PDF files or Word documents by June 15, 2023.

Past winners


Melissa Greene-Blye

W. Joseph Campbell 

Erin Coyle 

Keith Greenwood 


Peter Gloviczki
Kevin Lerner
Yong Volz

Mark Bernhardt
George Daniels
Elisabeth Fondren
Rob Wells

Candi Carter Olson
Gerry Lanosga
Teri Finneman

Michael Fuhlhage
Amy Lauters
Raymond McCaffrey
Pamela Walck

David Davies
Berkley Hudson

Will Mari
Melita Garza
Debbie van Tuyll
Pete Smith

Erin Coyle
Aimee Edmondson
Linda Lumsden
Gwyneth Mellinger

Michael Martinez
Roger Mellen

Michael Dibari Jr.
Michael Fuhlhage
Vanessa Murphree
Erika Pribanic-Smith

Meg Lamme
Tracy Lucht

Noah Arceneaux
John Coward
Earnest Perry
Amber Roessner

Elizabeth Burt
Kathleen Endres
Kimberley Mangun
Gwyneth Mellinger
Andie Tucher

Frank Fee
Barbara Friedman
Kimberly Wilmot Voss
Ronald Zboray and Mary Zboray

Brian Carroll
Dolores Flamiano
Janice Hume
Jane Marcellus

David Bulla
Joseph Campbell
Linda Lumsden
Jan Whitt

Copyright © 2022 AJHA ♦ All Rights Reserved
Contact AJHA via email

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software