38th Annual AJHA Convention
Dallas, TX   |   Oct. 3-5, 2019

Convention contacts

Convention Coordinator
Caryl Cooper
University of Alabama

Registration Coordinator
Ken Ward
Lamar University

Program Coordinator
Aimee Edmondson

Ohio University

Convention hosts

Erika Pribanic-Smith
University of Texas at Arlington

Melita Garza
Texas Christian University

James Mueller
University of North Texas

Special Events

  Sevy's Grill is the site of the closing gala dinner. 

AJHA Awards Reception| Donna Allen Roundtable Luncheon| Gala Dinner

Sidney Kobre & Teaching Awards Luncheon ♦ Thurs., Oct. 3
Included with registration (sponsored by University of North Texas Mayborn School of Journalism)

Attendees enjoy a plated, table service lunch as AJHA honors the winners of the Sidney Kobre Award for Lifetime Achievement in Journalism History and the National Award for Excellence in Teaching.

AJHA's highest honor, the Kobre Award recognizes individuals with an exemplary record of sustained achievement in journalism history through teaching, research, professional activities, or other contributions to the field of journalism history.nd as program chair, vice-head, secretary, and newsletter editor for AEJMC’s History Division.

The Award for Excellence in Teaching honors a college or university teacher who excels at teaching in the areas of journalism and mass communication history, makes a positive impact on student learning, and offers an outstanding example for other educators.

Here is a link to the Awards page with information about this year's honorees.

AJHA Awards Reception ♦ Thurs., Oct. 3
Included with registration (sponsored by Texas Christian University Bob Schieffer College of Communication and Department of Journalism)

Distinguished Service Award

For just the fourth time in AJHA's history, the organization will honor James P. Danky with the  Distinguished Service Award, which is reserved for those generally outside the field of academe who have made major contributions to the preservation of journalism history.

Danky, currently a faculty associate at the University of Wisconsin-Madison in the School of Journalism and Mass Communication, was responsible for the preservation of a massive newspaper collection, which he tended during a 40-year career at the State Historical Society of Wisconsin, second in size only to the series at the Library of Congress.

Danky was particularly effective at preserving “alternative” publications, meaning that scholars now and into the future will have access to African American, Native American, Alaska natives, Hawaiian natives, Latin American, and Haitian American newspapers, among others. 

Local Journalist Award

AJHA annually bestows its Outstanding Local Journalist Award for Substantial Contribution to the Public Interest to a journalist local to the convention city whose work has had a positive impact on the community. The recipient serves as a featured speaker at the Thursday evening reception. Reception attendees enjoy hot and cold hors d'oeuvres and a cash bar at this event.

This year's honoree is Dianne Solis, an award-winning Texas-based freelance journalist. She is a former senior writer at the Dallas Morning News and a former foreign correspondent for the Wall Street Journal based in Mexico. She has reported extensively on the immigration crackdown by the Trump administration and its impact on children.

Throughout her career, she’s written about people crossing borders, from tales of refugees from Iraq, to children from Honduras seeking asylum in Texas. Her passion? Finding the humanity in complex stories. She holds degrees from Northwestern University and California State University, Fresno, and was a Nieman Fellow at Harvard.

Donna Allen Roundtable Luncheon ♦ Fri., Oct. 4
Additional charge

The annual Donna Allen Luncheon celebrates contributions of women to the field of journalism. American Journalism Historians Association invites a woman journalist local to the convention city as its honored guest and featured speaker for the luncheon. Attendees enjoy a plated, table service lunch at this event.

This year's featured speaker is Tracy Everbach, a professor of journalism and a feminist scholar in the Mayborn School of Journalism at the University of North Texas. She teaches undergraduate and graduate classes on race, gender, and media, news reporting, and qualitative research methods.

Her research focuses on women’s work and leadership in journalism, and on media representations of gender and race. She is co-author of Mediating Misogyny: Gender, Technology & Harassment (Palgrave MacMillan, 2018).  In 2019, she received the Donna Allen Award for Feminist Advocacy from the Commission on the Status of Women at AEJMC. She is a former newspaper reporter, including 12 years on the city news desk at the Dallas Morning News.

Gala Dinner ♦ Sat., Oct. 5 ♦ Sevy's Grill
Additional charge

The closing event for the annual AJHA convention enables attendees to network and reminisce over the convention's activities in a social setting. The Gala will be hosted by Sevy's Grill at 8201 Preston Road, a half-mile walk from the conference hotel. Sevy's is an independent, family-run restaurant known for its Aztek Grill, on which food is cooked over a live fire fueled by hickory wood. Dinner will include an appetizer, entrée, and dessert. In addition, there will be a cash bar.


Dallas Convention Sponsors


Copyright © 2019 AJHA ♦ All Rights Reserved
Contact AJHA via email

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software